Lynn Marshall-Linnemeier

Project Title
Unraveling Miss Kitty's Cloak

visual art

Grant Amount

The Journey Projects: "Unraveling Miss Kitty's Cloak" is a site-specific sculptural installation that will be created for the Oxford community that remembers Catherine Andrew Boyd, also known as Kitty. James Osgood Andrew, president of the Board of Trustees of Emory College enslaved Catherine Boyd in the early 1800s. In 1844 her ownership split the Methodist Church along regional lines when Andrew refused to free her. The incident is considered a rehearsal for the Civil War. The installation also remembers other enslaved persons in Oxford-Covington, including those enslaved by former presidents of Emory College.

The installation will consist of 4–9 fabric panels, approximately 7'x 40', that incorporate photographs, the names of enslaved persons and documents uncovered in researching Catherine Boyd's life. The artist will work with community residents to complete the panels, which will be installed at Old Church in Oxford, Georgia for a formal program on February 6, 2011. After the Old Church gathering attendees will reconvene at Oxford Cemetery where Boyd is buried. The panels will be laid on the ground forming a pathway that leads from Boyd's gravesite into the African American cemetery, symbolizing Catherine Boyd's return to the black community. Boyd is the only black person buried in Oxford's white cemetery. Boyd's descendants will also attend the ceremony.

Return to list


Invest inIdea Capital
Click the button below to make your 2014 contribution via our fiscal agent, Alternate Roots.

Or download a donor form (pdf or Word)

Download PDF donor form Download Word format donor form

Fall 2014 Investors

Anne Sterchi

Beth Malone

Courtney Hammond

Deborah Delamater

Helen Crawford

Hope Cohn

Laurel Rummel

Louis Corrigan

Marcia Vaitsman and Franz Pascher

Margaret Kargbo

Mary Fisher

Mary O'Horo

Melanie Hammet

Nancy Floyd

Nick Madden

Pam Longobardi

Rebecca Dimling Cochran

Rocio Rodriguez

T. Lang

Thomas Byrd

Tracy Murrell

Fall 2013 Investors

Alexandra Delotch Davis

Allison Rentz

Amy Pursifull

Amy Miller

Anderson Scott

Andre Keichian

Angela West

Anita Hicks

Anne Dennington

Anne Sterchi

Anne Lambert Tracht

Annette Cone Skelton

Antoinette Daniels

Arturo Lindsay

Aubrey Longley-Cook

Brenda Locke

Carolyn Carr and Michael Gibson

Casey Lynch

Catherine Ackert

Cecelia Kane

Chris Campbell

Cinqué Hicks and Gergely Hamar

Corian Ellisor

Corrina Mensoff

Craig Cameron

Cubby West

Daniel Gaetan-Beltran & Shay Nichols

David and Diane Schuster

David and Birgit McQueen

Dorian McDuffie

Elizabeth Lide

Elyse Defoor


Fabian Williams

Felicia Feaster

G. Morgan Timmis

Genevieve McGillicuddy and Scott Henry

George King

Glen Kurtz

Grace Kisa

Greta Mandell

Hagedorn Foundation Gallery

Helen Hale

Helen Crawford

Hester and Huckleberry Starnes

Horace Williams

Hormuz Minina

Imara Canady

Jason Orr

Jesse Dunn

Jessica Caldas

Jill Pope West

JK Hunter

Judy Lampert

Julia Kjelgaard

Karen Shacham

Karen Wright

Katherine Taylor

Kemi Bennings


Kristi Kent

Laura Noel

Leatrice Ellzy

Lily Siegel

Linda Armstrong

Lisa Cremin

Lisa Alembik

Lisa Tuttle

Lori and Mark Teague

Louis Corrigan

Louise E. Shaw

Maggie Ginestra

Malina Rodriguez

Marianne Lambert

Martha Whittington

Mary O'Horo

Mary Stanley

Mary Frances Callis

Masud Olufani

Michael Peterson

Michael Rooks

Mike Stasny

Moshe Gittelson and Claire Rubin

Myrna Pronchuk

Myrna Talbot

Nick Madden

Nicole Livieratos

Paul Tuminaro

Priscilla Smith

Rachel Reese

Richard Dodder

Rick Fisher

Robert Brawner

Robin Bernat

Rocio Rodriguez

Ruth Stanford

Ruth Dusseault

Sarah Hobbs

Seana Reilly

Sheila Pree Bright

Shelby Hofer

Stan Woodard

Stephanie Dowda

Sue Ross

Susan Bridges

Susan Berenson

Susannah Darrow

Sylvia Rice

Terri Dilling

Tom Swanston

Tracy Murrell

Wendy Anderson

Will Chester

William Downs

Yanique Norman

Yun Bai